Contact

Dr. Martin Breidt

Adresse: Spemannstr. 38
72076 Tübingen
Raum Nummer: 103
Tel.: 07071 601 604
Fax: 07071 601 616
E-Mail: martin.breidt

 

Bild von Breidt, Martin, Dr.

Martin Breidt

Position: Wissenschaftstechnisches Personal  Abteilung: Bülthoff

Nach meinem Verständnis sollte ein Technical Director (TD) versuchen, die Lücke zwischen Kunst and Technologie, Kreativität und Ingenieurswesen, Intuition und Wissenschaft zu schließen. Damit beschäftige ich mich hier am MPI speziell im Bereich 3D-Gesichts- und -körperanimation.

Interessenschwerpunkte: Computergraphik; 3D-Animation; Gesichtswahrnehmung, -analyse und -animation; Visual Effects; 3D + 4D Scanning; Motion Capture; Videotechnik; virtuelle Realität, Visualisierung & Echtzeitrendering.

Hier arbeite ich (auf OpenStreetMap ansehen)

Ich war Mitglied der Arbeitsgruppe Angewandte Kognitionsforschung, in der wir Systeme mit Verfahren des maschinellen Sehens, der Computergrafik und des maschinellen Lernens mit Methoden der Psychophysik kombinieren, um grundlegende kognitive Prozesse zu untersuchen. Dazu verwenden wir unser Gesichts- und Bewegungsaufnahme ebenso wie die 3D-Gesichtsscan-Systeme unserer Abteilung.

 

Seit neuerem habe ich begonnen, Wahrnehmungseffekte bei Avataren in der Computergraphik und in virtueller Realität in Kollaborationen mit Betty Mohler, Michael Black, Javier Romero, Naureen Mahmood und Reuben Fleming (dessen Doktorarbeit ich zusammen mit Betty Mohler betreue) zu untersuchen.

 

Bis Sommer 2016 halte ich zudem eine Vorlesung zu medizinscher Visualisierung an der Hochschule Reutlingen.

 

Neben den wissenschaftlichen Tätigkeiten bn ich auch noch als Softwwarelizenz-Manager für unser Institut tätig.

Nach meinem Diplom in Informatik an der Universität Tübingen habe ich mich in einem Aufbaustudium an der Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg in Ludwigsburg als Technical Director im Bereich Visual Effects spezialisiert. Seit 2003 arbeite ich als TD am Max-Planck-Institut für biologische Kybernetik, wo ich Methoden zur glaubwürdigen 3D-Animation von Gesichtern entwickle. 2012 habe ich meine Doktorarbeit "Datenbasierte Gesichtsanimation" abgeschlossen.

Präferenzen: 
Referenzen pro Seite: Jahr: Medium:

  
Zeige Zusammenfassung

Vorträge (11):

Breidt M (Juni-5-2009): MPIK Face Technology, Maxnet Cognition Meeting: Max Planck Institute for Human Development,, Berlin, Germany.
Breidt M und Curio C (November-24-2006): Technologien für Virtual Reality und Gesichtsanimation am MPI, Fraunhofer-Institut für Intelligente Analyse- und Informationssysteme: IAIS Seminar, Sankt Augustin.
Breidt M und Curio C (Oktober-4-2006): Motion Capture für Facial Animation in der Grundlagenforschung, Universität München: Vicon User Meeting, München, Germany.
Breidt M (Februar-1-2006): Facial Animation in the Industry, Computer Science Course: Computeranimation und Lernmethoden in der Computergrafik, Universität Ulm, Ulm, Germany.
Krimmel M, Schmiedeberg T, Straub-Duffner S, Breidt M, Blanz V, Scherbaum K, Bülthoff HH und Reinert S (August-30-2005) Abstract Talk: 3D Facial Growth in Healthy Caucasian Infants, 17th International Conference on Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery (ICOMS 2005), Wien, Austria.
Breidt M, Wallraven C, Cunningham DW und Bülthoff HH (Juli-2003) Abstract Talk: Facial Animation Based on 3D Scans and Motion Capture, 30th International Conference and Exhibition on Computer Graphics and Interactive Techniques (SIGGRAPH 2003), San Diego, CA, USA.
pdf
Seite:  
1, 2

Export als:
BibTeX, XML, pubman, Edoc, RTF
Last updated: Montag, 22.05.2017

Contact

Dr. Martin Breidt

Address: Spemannstr. 38
72076 Tübingen
Room number: 103
Phone: +49 7071 601 604
Fax: +49 7071 601 616
E-Mail: martin.breidt

 

Picture of Breidt, Martin, Dr.

Martin Breidt

Position: Research Technician  Unit: Bülthoff

In my understanding, a Technical Director (TD) should bridge the gap between art and technology, creativity and engineering, intuition and science. That is what I am trying to do at the MPI in the field of 3D facial and body animation, in particular.

Areas of Interest: Computer graphics, 3D animation, facial perception/analysis/animation, visual effects, 3D + 4D scanning, motion capture, video technology, virtual reality, visualization & realtime rendering.

Here's where I work (view on OpenStreetMap)

I was part of the Cognitive Engineering group where we develop and use systems from Computer Vision, Computer Graphics, Machine Learning with methods from psychophysics in order to investigate fundamental cognitive processes. For this, we make use of our Face and Motion Capture facilities as well as the 3D face scanning systems in our department.

 

Recently I have started to investigate perceptual effects of avatars in computer graphics and virtual reality in collaboration with Betty Mohler, Michael Black, Javier Romero, Naureen Mahmood and Reuben Fleming (whose PhD I supervise jointly with Betty Mohler).

 

Until summer 2016, I will also be giving lectures on medical visualization at the Reutlingen University.

 

In addition to my research, I am responsible for software licensing management at our institute.

Having received a Diplom (Masters) in Computer Science from the University of Tuebingen, I continued my interest in applied computer graphics at the Baden-Wuerttemberg Film Academy in Ludwigsburg, where I specialized as Technical Director for Visual Effects. Since 2003 I am working as Research TD at the MPI, developing new methods for believable 3D facial animation. In 2012, I completed my PhD in Computer Science on the topic of data-driven facial animation.

Preferences: 
References per page: Year: Medium:

  
Show abstracts

Talks (11):

Breidt M and Curio C (November-24-2006): Technologien für Virtual Reality und Gesichtsanimation am MPI, Fraunhofer-Institut für Intelligente Analyse- und Informationssysteme: IAIS Seminar, Sankt Augustin.
Breidt M and Curio C (October-4-2006): Motion Capture für Facial Animation in der Grundlagenforschung, Universität München: Vicon User Meeting, München, Germany.
Breidt M (February-1-2006): Facial Animation in the Industry, Computer Science Course: Computeranimation und Lernmethoden in der Computergrafik, Universität Ulm, Ulm, Germany.
Krimmel M, Schmiedeberg T, Straub-Duffner S, Breidt M, Blanz V, Scherbaum K, Bülthoff HH and Reinert S (August-30-2005) Abstract Talk: 3D Facial Growth in Healthy Caucasian Infants, 17th International Conference on Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery (ICOMS 2005), Wien, Austria.
Breidt M, Wallraven C, Cunningham DW and Bülthoff HH (July-2003) Abstract Talk: Facial Animation Based on 3D Scans and Motion Capture, 30th International Conference and Exhibition on Computer Graphics and Interactive Techniques (SIGGRAPH 2003), San Diego, CA, USA.
pdf
Page:  
1, 2

Export as:
BibTeX, XML, Pubman, Edoc, RTF
Last updated: Monday, 22.05.2017